Welcome

Earlier today I was listening to Stephen Covey’s Audiobook “Living the 7 habits” and he was referring to the 7th habit: Sharpening the Saw. Essentially he was pointing out that after the previous 6 habits had been dealt with, it was important to revisit the 6 habits and remind and continue to make adjustments where necessary. In talking about this, he mentioned the term Kaizen. I had heard this term many times before: I had a friend who put it up as her facebook status almost every night for the better part of summer ’07.  To be succint, it is a Japanese word meaning continual improvement. The definition I put at the top of this blog is from good ol’ Wikipedia. As far as the pronounciation, a quick search brought me to a blog where the following comment was found

kaizen would be correctly pronounced:

kai zen

so it “kai” is like saying “Hi” in English and “zen” is is like “Den” in English. In Japanese, e’s are pronounced like “eh” in English.

This term embodies my philosophy to the core. It involves continually wanting to move ahead and moving forward. The word involves constant progression and growing from strength to strength. When I thought about blogging, I question whether it should focus on finances, personal development, social media or something else. I realized that it was hard for me to pick, so this blog is more of a combination of all this spheres but overall the concept is kaizen. I hope that you will take this journey with me as I learn to improve myself in varying aspects and perhaps teach something in the process

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by General on August 13, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Well man I have learned a lot from you postings…We need to continuous improve ourselves. In the past months I have had to endure a lot of pain inflicted by those whom I will call dream killers. I never felt so humiliated by a human being, but during that period I learned that Failure is Success turned inside out…All I can say throughout the years you have been an inspiration and I looked at your library one day and said this young man is destined for a great future. Today I still believe that and is not by chance is the time you put on everything you do. As you march towards those 3Ds keep your head up…whatever happens fall still fighting…Until then peace my brother.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Olu on August 31, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    Thanks General. The world can be a crazy place, but like someone once said “The things that lie before or after are nothing compared to that which is inside”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

